Chinese New Year 2021

chinese new year lantern

Chinese New Year is the biggest celebration in China. It is also celebrated in other Asian countries, and worldwide where there are Chinese communities. In the United States, we can see the malls and stores decorated according to the theme of Chinese Lunar New Year, we can see big lions and Graham’s hanging on the ceilings, and a lot of red color everywhere.

When is the Chinese New Year?

Chinese New Year falls on different dates each year. This is because it coincides with the Lunar Calendar. But, it always falls between January 21 and February 21. This year, the Chinese New Year is on Friday, February 21. Chinese New Year is also referred to as the Spring festival, though it falls during Winter.

How long does the Chinese New Year last?

Red envelope

Chinese New Year celebration lasts for 15 days. These 15 days are eventful with several activities and celebrations. It starts and ends with a lot of fireworks. Celebrations include, but not limited to- family gatherings, family dinners, gift exchanges, lantern festival, giving red envelope with money to children as symbol of luck, etc. Also, red is considered the color of luck in Chinese tradition, so there will be a lot of red decorations both indoors and outdoors. Also, there will be a New Years’ parade on the streets with dragon and lion dance.


What is the Zodiac Sign for 2021 as per Lunar Calendar?

Ox is the Zodiac Sign for the Chinese New Year 2021. As per CNN, “A year isn’t just categorized by its zodiac animal. There’s also a complex sexagenary cycle — a combination of one of 10 heavenly stems and one of 12 earthly branches.” According to the sexagenary cycle, February 12 will mark the beginning of element metal among the 10 heavenly stems. So, 2021 is the year of metal Ox.


What are the 12 earthly branches associated with the Chinese New Year?

Each year is associated or dedicated to an animal that is a part of the Chinese Zodiac. They are also referred to as Earthly Branches. There is a total of 12 animals, so each zodiac sign appears in 12 years.

Following are the 12 earthly branches in Chinese Tradition:

  • Rat
  • Ox
  • Tiger
  • Rabbit
  • Dragon
  • Snake
  • Horse
  • Goat
  • Monkey
  • Rooster
  • Dog
  • Pig

What are the 10 heavenly stems?

There are a total of 10 heavenly stems. They fall under Yin or Yang. So, five of those fall under Yin, and five falls under Yang. Heavenly Stems Jia, Bing, Wu, Geng, Ren come under Yang. Heavenly Stems Yi, Ding, Ji, Xin, Gui belong to Yin. Yang is associated with growth and prosperity, while Yang is associated to decline or decrease.

  • Jia and Yi- Wood element
  • Bing and Ding- Fire element
  • Wu and Ji- Earth element
  • Geng and Xin- Metal element
  • Ren and Gui- Water element

Do you have any feedback or comments on this article? If yes, please let us know in the comment section below.

In addition, do not forget to follow us on social media and subscribe to our weekly newsletter to get health-related posts like this straight to your inbox. For Guest Posts, please email us at

Feel free to write something

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.